Vijayanagara set to be 31st district of Karnataka

Source: TNN | Published on 20th September 2019, 11:12 PM | State News | Don't Miss |

Bengaluru: Karnataka is set to get a new district after nearly a decade, taking the state’s total to 31. The BJP government is planning to carve out six of the 11 taluks of Ballari district into a new district —Vijayanagara, named after the capital of historic Vijayanagara Empire.

Chief minister BS Yediyurappa on Thursday announced he will soon place the proposal before the cabinet for approval. The announcement came a day after a delegation led by disqualified Vijayanagara MLA BS Anand Singh, Congress Kampli MLA J Ganesh and seers met Yediyurappa.

The CM said Hospete, Kampli, Hagaribommanahalli, Kottur, Hadagali and Harapanahalli will form the new district of Vijayanagara with Hospete as the district headquarters. Ballari, Kurugodu, Siraguppa, Sandur and Kudligi taluks will continue to be part of Ballari district, with Ballari city as headquarters.

BSY: New district for effective administration

Yediyurappa, in a note to the media, said Ballari has become difficult to administer since it has 11 taluks and 11 revenue sub-divisions. In most cases, farmers, dailywage labourers and poor people have to travel long distances to reach the district headquarters in Ballari city. “As a result, it is considered to ease trouble by carving out a separate district for efficient administration,” the note read.
Sources said the move is a bid to placate Anand Singh and other MLAs who are key to the BJP government’s continuance. Singh on Wednesday hired a flight from JSW airstrip to bring the delegation to Bengaluru and apply pressure on the CM to carve out a district.

Barring one seat, the assembly constituencies in the proposed district are represented by Congress legislators. The lone BJP MLA in the region is Harapanahalli legislator G Karunakara Reddy. With the new district, chief minister Yediyurappa will look to make inroads into four other seats which voted for Congress in 2013 and 2018, sources said.

Read These Next

42 policemen awarded medals on 73rd raising day

Delhi's Deputy Commissioner of Police (Crime) Joy Tirkey, probing the January 5 incident of violence at the Jawaharlal Nehru University here, and the city's Additional Deputy Commissioner of Police (North) Harender Kumar ...