Rebel MP Congress MLAs join BJP

Source: ANI | Published on 21st March 2020, 7:48 PM | National News |

New Delhi : Rebel Madhya Pradesh Congress MLAs including all six former cabinet ministers on Saturday joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) here, at party president JP Nadda's residence.

Nadda symbolically inducted them into the party by offering him a party stole. Party leaders Jyotiraditya Scindia, Narendra Singh Tomar, and Kailash Vijayvargiya were present during the occasion.

Earlier on Saturday, Madhya Pradesh Assembly Speaker NP Prajapati has accepted the resignation of all rebel MLAs including six cabinet ministers who are said to be supporters of Congress' former senior leader Jyotiraditya Scindia.

These members include Imarti Devi, Tulsi Silawat, Pradyuman Singh Tomar, Mahendra Singh Sisodia, Govind Singh Rajput and Prabhuram Choudhary. They all were cabinet ministers in Kamal Nath government.

After Kamal Nath resigned as Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister, senior BJP leader Shivraj Singh Chouhan on Friday claimed that his party was not in the game to form or topple the state government and asked the Congress to do self-introspection to analyse what gave rise to such a situation.

After tendering his resignation, Kamal Nath stated that the recent turn of events in the state add a new chapter in the weakening of democratic principles. He made the announcement at a press conference in Bhopal hours ahead of the scheduled floor test on Friday.
22 Congress MLAs tendered their resignation after Jyotiraditya Scindia, a prominent face of the Congress, resigned and joined the BJP.

Read These Next

Elections to 18 RS seats on June 19: EC

The polls to 18 Rajya Sabha seats, deferred due to the coronavirus pandemic, will be held on June 19, the Election Commission announced on Monday.

Gujarat braces for cyclone, deploys 10 NDRF teams

In anticipation of a cyclonic storm making landfall on the Gujarat coast on June 3, the state government on Monday ordered evacuation of people living in low-lying areas and deployed 10 teams of the National Disaster ...

Govt hikes paddy MSP by Rs 53/qtl for 2020-21

The government on Monday hiked the minimum support price (MSP) of paddy marginally by Rs 53 per quintal to Rs 1,868 per quintal for the 2020-21 crop year, while the rates for oilseeds, pulses and cereals were also ...