Uttara Kannada politics: Around 64 leaders from BJP, JDS join Congress

Source: S.O. News Service | By Sajjad Quazi | Published on 6th September 2021, 9:34 PM | Coastal News |

Kumta: Around 64 political leaders from coastal belt in Uttara Kannada district have changed their party and have left Janata Dal (secular) and BJP to join Congress.

For the past several days, it was expected that KPCC President DK Shivakumar would visit Kumta and in his presence, many leaders of Janata Dal (S) and BJP would join the Congress party. But all of a sudden, the people themselves reached Bengaluru and joined the Congress in presence of senior Congress state leaders.

From Kumta-Honnavar Assembly constituency, around 64 political leaders joined Congress party simultaneously in presence of Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee President DK Shivakumar, Leader of the Opposition in the Assembly and former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, former Ministers RV Deshpande, SR Patil, Saleem Ahmed, Uttara Kannada district Congress President Bhimanna Naik, former MLAs Mankal Vaidya, Satish Sail, Sharada Shetty and other Congress leaders.

Addressing the political leaders and workers who joined the Congress, DK ShivaKumar said that there should not be any discrimination in Congress party between old and new member, senior or junior, everyone should work together with newcomers. Every person at the Gram panchayat level should be informed about the rising inflation and administrative failures under the Central government. Youth Congress unit should be set up at the Panchayat level. ShivaKumar assured that he would visit Kumta soon, until then work should be done to strengthen the Congress party.

Among those who joined the Congress from BJP include Yashodhar Naik (defeated candidate in the last assembly election), former District Panchayat member Gayatri Gowda, former Taluka Panchayat member Indira Timappa Mukri, Geeta N Mukri, former Kumta TMC member Harish Shet, Chandavar Gram Panchayat member Imam Ghani, Timappa Rama Mukri, Former President of BJP SC Morcha Advocate RG Naik and many others.

Those joined Congress from JDS are former Zilla panchayat member Pradeep Naik Devarbhavi, JDS state general secretary Vijaya Ram Patagar, Gajanan Naik Alvekodi, former Taluka panchayat President Parmeshwar Sukri Patagar, Mirjan Gram panchayat president Malathi Ganapathi Hegde and many others.

Read These Next

Udupi: Gold ornaments stolen

Thieves struck at a house and have decamped with 45 grams of gold ornaments at Kunjugadde in Ambalpadi.