Model Code Of Conduct In Karnataka From November 11 Over Bypolls

Source: S.O. News Service | Published on 11th November 2019, 12:19 PM | State News |

Bengaluru: Ahead of the model code of conduct coming into effect from Monday in the 15 Karnataka assembly constituencies where bypolls are scheduled, Chief Electoral Officer Sanjiv Kumar said the preparations were afoot for the smooth conduct of elections on December 5.

The model code of conduct shall come into force from November 11 in the districts in which the whole or any part of the assembly constituency going for by-election is included, Mr Kumar told reporters on Sunday.

He said the code of conduct would be applicable to the candidates, political parties, state government and the Centre for the districts concerned.

According to the amended schedule for the bypolls, the date for filing nominations starts from Monday and the last date of nominations is November 18.

The date of scrutiny of nominations is November 19 and the last date for the withdrawal of candidates is November 21 and the by-elections would take place on December 5 from 7 am to 6 pm.

The counting of votes will take place on December 9. 

The by-elections would take place in Athani, Kagwad, Gokak, Yellapura, Hirekerur, Ranebennur, Vijayanagara, Chikkaballapura, KR Pura, Yashwanthapura, Mahalakshmi Layout, Shivajinagar, Hoskote, KR Pete and Hunsur. 

The constituencies have 37.5 lakh voters and 4,185 polling stations.

We have enough number of EVM-VVPATs for the 4,185 polling stations. We have 200 per cent BU, CU (ballot units and control units) and VVPATs. They have been kept safely, Mr Kumar told reporters.

22,598 poll personnel will also be deployed.

The Election Commission has set up an integrated complaint monitoring and media monitoring centre at the office of the CEO at Khanija Bhavan here.

Besides receiving complaints through letters, emails and national grievances redressal system web portal, people can use the eVIGIL mobile application.

Mr Kumar said training has been held for all the officers involved at various levels and another level of training would be organised.

Another important feature of the by-election is the usage of M3 EVMs, which have advanced features, on a large-scale in Karnataka.

There are 29 nominations. They hold good. They are also very much there. Out of 29, 15 belong to national parties, three are unrecognised party and another 11 are independent, Mr Kumar said in reply to a query.

These bypolls were necessitated after the resignation and subsequent disqualification of 17 MLAs - 14 from Congress and three from the JD(S) by the then speaker KR Ramesh Kumar.

Their disqualification brought down the coalition government of Congress and the JD(S) and installed the BJP government in the state.

The election dates for Rajarajeshwari Nagar and Maski constituencies were not announced as the matter is pending in court. 

Read These Next