Karnataka crisis deepens further as two more Congress MLAs resign

Source: PTI | Published on 10th July 2019, 7:09 PM | State News | Don't Miss |

BENGALURU: Two more MLAs from the Congress - Housing Minister MTB Nagaraj and K Sudhakar - have resigned their membership of the Karnataka Assembly, taking the number of dissidents in the ruling coalition to 16. 

The two put in their papers at the office of Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar on Wednesday afternoon even as senior Congress leaders including Ghulam Nabi Azad were camping in capital Bengaluru to try and convince some of the rebels to take back their resignations. 
The Kumaraswamy government in the state was already on the brink of collapse after 14 MLAs of ruling Congress and the JD(S) tendered their resignations to the office of the speaker over the last few days. 

The earlier resignations were yet to be accepted by the Speaker. While eight of them were to send their resignations again in "a proper format", the others were asked to meet the Speaker and convince him the resignations were not made under pressure. 

Read These Next