Bhatkal Town Municipal Council polls: 53 nomination papers filed

Source: S.O. News Service | By Sajjad Qazi | Published on 16th May 2019, 7:49 PM | Coastal News |

Bhatkal: With Thursday being the last day for filing nominations, a total of 51 candidates had filed 53 nomination papers for 23 wards of Town Municipal Council, Bhatkal.

Addressing media,  Tashildar M B Patil who is also election officer, said here, the 53 nomination papers filed included five nomination papers by the Congress, nine by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), two by the Janata Dal (Secular) and 37 by independent candidates.

The last date for filing nomination papers was May 16, while scrutiny of nomination papers will be taken up on May 17 at 11.00 am. The last date for withdrawal of nomination papers is May 20. The elections will be held on May 29.  If it is necessary, re-polling will be held from 7:00 am to 5:00 pm on May 30. Counting of votes will be held from 8:00 am onwards at Anand Asharm School Bhatkal on May 31.

Bhatkal Town Municipal Council  has 23 wards with 23,920 eligible voters including 12,133 males and 11,787 females.

Other election officers, Assistant director of Fisheries Department M Ravi, Block Education Officer M R Munji were also present.

Read These Next

Rs 2.97L gold seized at MIA

Customs officials at the Mangaluru International Airport seized 91.05 gram gold worth Rs 2.97 lakh from a passenger who arrived from Sharjah by Air India Exp flight IX814 on Thursday.

Shobha Karandlaje wins by 3,49,599 vote margin

BJP’s Shobha Karandlaje defeated her arch rival Pramod Madhwaraj of the JD(S) – Congress and won the Udupi-Chikmagalur Lok Sabha seat by a massive margin of 3,49,599 votes. ...

Hegde wins Uttara Kannada seat with comfortable margin

JP leader Ananth Kumar Hegde, known for making controversial remarks, won the Uttara (North) Kannada seat in Karnataka, defeating his nearest rival Anand Asnotikar of the Janata Dal (Secular) by a margin of 4.79 ...