Bhatkal: Serial accident at NH 66 kills two on the spot, 8 others critically injured

Source: S.O. News Service | Published on 30th October 2018, 9:09 PM | Coastal News | Don't Miss |

Bhatkal: Two were killed on the spot and eight others were critically injured in a tragic serial accident.

The accident occurred when a  heavy vehicle container ​rammed into a tempo from behind, causing it to crash in an incoming truck at National Highway 66, near Gunuwante, Honnavar on Tuesday.

The police identified the victims as a lorry driver named Raju Thimppa Gowda and its cleaner, Annappa Manjunath Naik, both of whom were from Manki.

The Injured persons were have been taken to  Kundapur, Manipal and Mangaluru for treatment.

A case has been registered in Manki Police Station.

Read These Next

Rs 2.97L gold seized at MIA

Customs officials at the Mangaluru International Airport seized 91.05 gram gold worth Rs 2.97 lakh from a passenger who arrived from Sharjah by Air India Exp flight IX814 on Thursday.

Shobha Karandlaje wins by 3,49,599 vote margin

BJP’s Shobha Karandlaje defeated her arch rival Pramod Madhwaraj of the JD(S) – Congress and won the Udupi-Chikmagalur Lok Sabha seat by a massive margin of 3,49,599 votes. ...

Hegde wins Uttara Kannada seat with comfortable margin

JP leader Ananth Kumar Hegde, known for making controversial remarks, won the Uttara (North) Kannada seat in Karnataka, defeating his nearest rival Anand Asnotikar of the Janata Dal (Secular) by a margin of 4.79 ...

Fire destroys areca plantation worth Rs 15 lakh

Areca plantation over one-and-half acres was charred at Karadikai village in Sirsi taluk on Tuesday after a dried coconut branch fell on a live wire. The fire then spread to entire plantation and property worth more than ...

HK Patil resigns as KPCC campaign committee chief

Senior Congress leader H KPatil has resigned as the President of Karnataka PradeshCongress Campaign Committee, taking responsibility for the party's disastrous defeat in the state in the Lok Sabha polls.

Smiriti Irani among 300 new LS faces

The new Lok Sabha will have 300 MPs who have been elected for the first time to the Lower House, including cricketer-turned-politician Gautam Gambhir, Union Ministers Ravi Shankar Prasad and Smriti Irani, sufi singer ...