Mangaluru Premier League cricket tourney to kick-off from 30 March in Riyadh

Source: S.O. News Service | By Sajjad Qazi | Published on 29th March 2018, 6:30 PM | Coastal News | Sports News | Gulf News |

Mangaluru/Riyadh: Mangaluru Cricket Association Riyadh to Host MPL (Mangaluru Premier League) T-15 Cricket tournament for the very first time in Riyadh, starting from March 30, 2018.

Cricket Lovers in Riyadh are all geared up for the newly launched Franchise Based Tournament called Mangaluru Premier League - MPL under the Banner of Mangaluru Cricket Association – MCA Riyadh for the very first time. The Organizing Committee members for MPL are Ashraf Patte, Naushad Mottethadka, and Shamshu Bailoor.

According to the organizing committee, a total of 6 Teams will participate in this mega event. All Matches will be played on MCA Ground Exit 18 Riyadh on Friday Afternoon 2 Pm. The 15 Overs tournament, known as T-15 will commence on 30th March 2018 and will last on April 11, 2018. All teams will play at least one league Match against every other team. Top 4 teams in the table will qualify to play for the Qualifier 1 and Eliminator. The Winner of Qualifier 1 will be heading towards the final and the 2nd finalist will be the winner of Qualifier 2 (Played between the loser of Qualifier 1 and Winner of Eliminator). The Final event will be interesting as both teams will play 2 innings of 8 overs each. The rules and regulations will be followed according to MCA. Only Indian Players allowed in this Mega Event.

The following are the named of 6 Teams with their franchise owners and respective icon payers who are all set to battle it out:

• Star Warriors Mangaluru – Ismail & Sateesh SCFC – Mihtun SCFC & Saleem SCFC
• Yaqoob Fighters – Shahid United & Yaqoob – Naushad Mottethadka & Rifaz Tonse
• Cinesoft CC – Habeeb Ashes – Abilash Ashes & Rajesh Ashes
• Coastal Karnataka – Imtiyaz Rajdhani – Sarfaraz Rajdhani & Mustafa Rajdhani
• Mighty Mangaloreans – Siddik Attackers & Imtiaz Kings Ullal – Saddab 7* & Ashfak 7*
• Mangalore Rangers – Thausif Deera Guys & Hanif Karavali Al Fanar – Badruddin Deera Guys & Shabbir Karavali Al Fanar

Each Team gets to pick 2 icon players of their choice on a mutual understanding whereas the remaining 13 players for each squad to be picked randomly based on their rankings and ratings in bidding style from 3 categories – A, B & C. The Franchise Ownership amount stands at Sr 1,500 for Each Team. The Winner of the Tournament gets a Cash Reward of Sr 3,000. The Runner-Up Gets a Cash Reward of 1,500. 

Many Attractive Individual prizes will be handed over at the end of the event such as below:

Highest Run Getter – Orange Cap – LED TV

Highest Wicket Taker – Purple Cap – LED TV

Player of the Series – Laptop

A player who scores 50+ runs in the Finals will be awarded Cash Prize.

Wicket Hat trick in the finals will be awarded Cash Prize.

The grand opening ceremony has been arranged on March 30 at 2 PM on MCA Grounds Exit 18, Sulay -  Riyadh prior to the beginning of the matches. All are cordially invited to extend their good wishes and support for the grand success of the entire event.

Read These Next

Asia Cup: India thump Pakistan by 8 wickets

India produced an all-round performance as they crushed Pakistan by eight wickets in their second Group A clash of the ongoing 2018 Asia Cup here at the Dubai International Stadium on Wednesday.

Asia Cup: India survive scare, beat Hong Kong by 26 runs

A 174-run partnership between Hong Kong openers Anshuman Rath and Nizakat Khan gave some mighty scares to the Indian camp and fans, but the Men in Blue fought back to clinch a 26-run win in their Group A match at the ...

Asia Cup: All-round Bangladesh crush Sri Lanka

The Bangladeshi cricket team produced an all-round performance to wallop Srilanka by 137 runs in the opening match of the Asia Cup, at the Dubai International Stadium here on Saturday.

UAE at forefront of women empowerment

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has adopted a powerful stance in empowering women, setting new standards based on a model drawn from the vision of founding father of the Arab country, late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al ...