Kumta-Honnavar seat may witness keen fight

Source: DHNS | By Mohammed Ismail | Published on 15th April 2018, 2:08 PM | Coastal News |

Karwar: The first MLA from Kumta-Honnavar constituency was a woman, and this constituency has never allowed anybody to have a hat-trick win here.

The constituency has 21 Gram Panchayats of Kumta taluk, eight Gram Panchayats of Honnavar taluk, and parts of Mugva Gram Panchayat. Five candidates have registered two victories each here.

In the first two elections, in 1957 and 1962, Vasanthalata V Mirjankar of Congress Party became MLA.

Independent candidate:

In 1967, independent candidate Ramachandra Manjunath Hegde was elected.

Congress candidate Seetharam Vasudev Naik became MLA in 1972 and 1978. He was defeated by BJP candidate M P Karki in 1983, who became the MLA for the second time in 1994. N H Gowda of Janata Party and K H Gowda of Congress were elected in 1985 and 1989 respectively.

Marginal victory:

Mohan K Shetty of Congress emerged victorious in 1999 and 2004 elections. Dinakar Shetty of Janata Dal (Secular) won by just 20 votes in 2008.

He was defeated by 420 votes by Sharada Mohan Shetty of Congress in 2013. This time, Congress ticket is expected for sitting MLA Sharada Shetty, while the JD(S) has fielded Pradeep Nayak Devarabavi.

Suraj Naik Soni, Dinakar Shetty, Yashodhar Naik and Subray Valke are the aspirants for the BJP ticket.

This constituency has 1.79 lakh voters including 88,768 women.

Read These Next

Indira canteen in Karwar soon

The construction of the building to open an ‘Indira Canteen’ is going on in full swing. The canteen is coming up in front of the Hescom office at Konewad in Karwar.

Need to defeat BJP: Minister Jayamala in Byndoor

Udupi In Charge Minister Jayamala stressed the need to teach a lesson to BJP, which has been creating rift among the communities in the name of religion for political gain. “The Congress and JD(S) will unitedly fight ...