KPL: Bijapur Bulls beats Bengaluru Blasters to clinch title

Source: SportsLive | Published on 7th September 2018, 3:14 PM | Sports News |

Mysuru: Bijapur Bulls romped home to its second Karnataka Premier League title with a crushing seven-wicket defeat of Bengaluru Blasters in the final on Thursday.

It was another superlative bowling effort, especially by the spinners, which set up the match for Bijapur as it bowled Bengaluru out for a paltry 101, the lowest total of the season.

In reply, Bijapur chased the target down with more than six overs to spare to add to the trophy it won in 2015.

The 47-run opening wicket stand between the Bulls’ skipper Bharath Chipli (19), who had an excellent tournament scoring 254 runs, and M.G. Naveen (43, 31b, 5x4, 2x6), who reserved two of his best performances for the semifinal and final, effectively ended the contest.

Middle-order bat Naga Bharath then administered the last rites, smashing 21 off seven balls.

Earlier, Chipli, who elected to field, kick-started things in earnest with a superb run out in the first over, catching Chethan Williams short at the non-striker’s end with a direct hit from cover following a diving stop.

Then, the spin trio of K.P. Appanna (4-0-16-3), K.C. Cariappa (4-0-13-1) and Suneel Raju (3-0-14-0) suffocated the Blasters’ batsmen.

Medium-pacer Naveen (4-1-19-2) bowled a nagging line and got the prized scalp of captain Robin Uthappa, forcing him to reach out for a wide and full delivery and edge behind.

That there were just five fours and two sixes scored in the whole innings said it all.

For Bijapur the only let down was its fielding. Chipli’s acrobatics aside, there was little else that it could be proud of. K.B. Pawan was dropped twice, while Suneel watched a catch and a stumping chance go by off his bowling.

It didn’t hurt the side though, as Bijapur more than covered up for it in the other departments.

Brief Scores: Bengaluru Blasters 101 in 20 overs (Bhavesh Gulecha two for 14, M.G. Naveen two for 19, K.P. Appanna three for 16) lost to Bijapur Bulls 98 for three in 13.3 overs (M.G. Naveen 43).

Man-of-the-match: M.G. Naveen.

Read These Next