Karnataka assembly election: Congress releases 218 candidates list for upcoming polls

Source: S.O. News Service | By I.G. Bhatkali | Published on 16th April 2018, 3:41 AM | Coastal News | State News | National News |

New Delhi: Congress on Sunday released its first list of 218 candidates for the upcoming assembly elections in Karnataka. Candidates for the remaining six out of the total of 224 seats have not been named so far. As per the list, chief minister Siddaramaiah will be contesting from the constituency of Chamundeshwari.

Siddaramaiah's son Yatheendra will contest from Varuna. Home minister Ramalinga Reddy and his daughter have both been fielded. Reddy will fight from BTM Layout and his daughter Soumya R from Jayanagara constituency in Bengaluru. Children of PWD minister H C Mahadevappa and Kolar MP K H Muniyappa will also fight the election. Priyank Kharge, the son of Mallikarjun Kharge, Leader of Congress in Lok Sabha, will contest from Chitapur reserved seat in Gulbarga.

Candidates for 218 seats have been announced by the party. The party will announce names for five other seats at a later date.

Sitting MLA Mankal Vaidya, will contest from Bhatkal-Honnavar constituency, while Sharada Shetty will contest from Kumta, Satish Sail from Karwar, Bhimanna Naik from Sirsi, R V Deshpande from Haliyal and Shivram Hebbar will contest election from Yellapur.

The first list includes 15 women candidates and the names of the seven former JD-S and two ex-BJP legislators who joined the party earlier this year. 

Karnataka will go to polls on May 12 and the counting will be held on May 15.

Here's the full list of Congress candidates for Karnataka elections 2018 released on Sunday









Read These Next

Changes introduced to streamline traffic in Karwar

In order to ensure smooth movement of traffic in Karwar, the district administration has come forward to convert some roads to one-way traffic lanes and has made some proper parking arrangement.

Dissenting Congress minister meets Siddaramaiah

Karnataka minister Ramesh Jarkiholi who along with his brother has raised a voice of dissent in the Congress Monday met former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, assigned the task of pacifying the siblings to prevent any ...

JD(S) MLA claims BJP tried to bribe him

A rulng JD(S) MLA in Karnataka Monday alleged that a local BJP leader attempted to lure him to defect to the party wth an offer of a ministerial berth.

Manipur lynching: 5 arrested, cop suspended

Five people have been arrested and a police official has been suspended in connection with Manipur mob lynching case. Eight other prime accused are still on the run.