District press day to be celebrated on July 15

Source: DHNS | By Sajjad Qazi | Published on 12th July 2018, 3:07 PM | Coastal News |

Gokarna: Uttara Kannada District Working Journalists Association, Sirsi Taluk Working Journalists Association, Kumta and Gokarna Journalists Association will jointly organise a district press day at 11 am, on July 15, at Sri Kshetra Gokarna Brahman Parishat’s Vedha Sabha Bhavan in the town. K Shyamrao and Ajjibal awards will be presented on the occasion.

MLA Dinakar Shetty will inaugurate the programme. Senior litterateur Jayanth Kaikini will deliver a special lecture on ‘Journalism & Litterature’.

Book release:

Karnataka Union of Working Journalists State President S Raju will release a literary book written by writer Rajeev Ajjibal.

Bhatkal MLA Sunil Naik, Karwar-Ankola MLA Roopali Naik, Sri Sadguru Nityananda High school Sanekatta president Nagraj Hittalamakki and others are guests.

Awards for jurnos:

K Shyamrao Award will be presented to Gokarna-based senior journalist Shreedhar K Adi and G S Hegde Ajjibal award will be presented to Panduranga Patagar of Joida and Inayatulla Gawai of Bhatkal.

Paper distributor Gajanan M Divatige of Gokarna will be felicitated on the occasion, said a press release from the association here.

Read These Next

Elderly Man feared drowned in Bantawal

An 87-Yr-Old man accidentally slipped and fell into a water body and has been reported missing since then, at Banathapalke in Uli village of Bantawal taluk.

Electrocution at Malavoor: 1 die, 8 injured

In a shocking incident, a labourer was electrocuted and around eight others received injuries after an electricity passed through them while repairing a high tension line at Malavoor near Bajpe on Wednesday, 18th July.