Chhetri named player of the year

Source: PTI | By Sajjad Qazi | Published on 23rd July 2018, 6:12 PM | Sports News |

Mumbai: Inspirational captain Sunil Chhetri was on Sunday named the 2017 All India Football Federation (AIFF) Player of the Year by the national body here.

Chhetri recently became the second Indian footballer to play 100 international games after Baichung Bhutia.

Chhetri is a star striker for both India and Bengaluru FC.

While Chhetri was declared the 2017 AIFF Player of the Year in the men’s category, Kamala Devi was adjudged the 2017 AIFF woman Player of the Year.

Young Anirudh Thapa, who had impressed everyone with his performance in the four-nation Intercontinental Cup which India won, was declared as the 2017 Emerging Player of the Year.

2017 AIFF Award winners: Best Grassroots Development Programme: Kerala FA.

Long-time contribution to Indian Football: Hero Motocorp.

Best Assistant Referee: Sumanta Datta (Assam).

Best referee: C R Srikrishna.

Emerging Woman Footballer of the Year: E Panthoi.

Emerging Player of the Year: Anirudh Thapa.

Woman Footballer of the Year: Kamala Devi.

Player of the Year: Sunil Chhetri.

Read These Next

Mumbai, Karnataka eye maiden win

Both Mumbai and Karnataka will be eyeing their first victory of this Ranji Trophy season when the two sides clash here from Tuesday in their Elite Group A match.