Karnataka Election Results: BJP snatches Uttara Kannada from Congress hand

Source: S.O. News Service | By Sajjad Qazi | Published on 16th May 2018, 2:26 PM | Coastal News | State News |

Karwar: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has swept four assembly seats in Uttar Kannada district, while Congress managed to retain only two seats. The result has sent a shock to the regional leadership of Congress.

On a total of 6 seats in Uttar-Kannada, Congress was able to retain seats only in Yellapur (Arabail Shivram Hebbar) and Haliyal (RV Deshpande), while other four constituencies were occupied by BJP i.e Roopali Naik in Karwar, Vishweshwarayya Hegde Kageri in Sirsi, Dinakar Shetty in Kumta, and Sunil Naik in Bhatkal.

In Karwar, JD (S) candidate Anand Asnotikar was defeated by BJP candidate Roopali Naik with a margin of 13,809 votes. Anand secured 45,967 votes while Roopali gained 59,776 votes.

In Sirsi, the BJP candidate who is the third time MLA at present clinched a victory with the margin of 17,271 over his Congress rival Bhimanna Naik. The votes received by Vishweshwarayya Hegde Kageri were 66,649. Bhimanna Naik managed to secure 49,378.

In Kumta, Congress candidate Sharada Mohan Shetty received an unexpected blow with her opponent winning with a huge margin ever recorded in the history of the constituency. BJP’s Dinakar Shetty secured 58,756 votes as against 26,463 votes gained by Sharada. The margin was 32,293 votes.

In Bhatkal, Congress candidate Mankal Vaidya was defeated with a margin of only 5,930 votes. Sunil Naik of BJP received 83,172 votes and Mankal gained 77,242 votes respectively.

The only two constituencies retained by Congress were Haliyal and Yellapur, which are represented by RV Deshpande and Arabail Hebbar Shivram respectively. 

RV Deshpande retained his constituency by getting 61,577 votes while his rival Sunil Hegde of BJP polled 56,437 votes in Haliyal constituency. Arabail Hebbar in Yellapur polled 66,290 votes to defeat BJP’s Virbhadragouda Patil by a close margin of just 1483 votes.

A neck-to-neck fight between Asnotikar and Roopali in Karwar was expected to completely twist the results. However, after few rounds, Roopali did not look back but went on increasing her number of votes and she was assured of clinching the victory.

Read These Next

‘Operate Karwar-Bengaluru train via Madgaon’

National Railway Users' Consultative Commission Member K. Venkatesh Kini has urged the Railway Ministry to operate Bengaluru-Karwar/Kannur train services on two alternative routes till the track on Shiradi Ghat is ...

Ban on heavy vehicles on Charmadi Ghat Road

Deputy Commissioner Sasikanth Senthil has banned the movement of heavy vehicles, including trucks, containers, ship cargo, long chasis heavy vehicles, heavy commercial vehicles on Charmadi Ghat Road.

Kodavas in coast to send relief items to Kodagu

Kodava Students' Association (KSA) in Dakshina Kannada and Udupi districts have decided to collect and send relief material to Kodagu, which has been ravaged by heavy rains and floods in the last few days.

Sirsi: Varada flowing in full force

Though the rain took smaller breaks in Sirsi taluk on Thursday, cloudy and cold weather continued to affect people. From Wednesday morning to Thursday morning, Sirsi taluk received 35 mm rain, Siddapur 53 mm, Yellapur ...

Kumta: Man slips from foot bridge; dies

A man reportedly lost his life after getting accidentally slipped from a foot bridge and later fell into a stream and went on drowning while crossing it at night at Hebbail village on Thursday night.