ANFA Bhatkal clinch Nawayath title, beat Labbaik by 29 runs in final

Source: S.O. News Service | Published on 17th January 2019, 11:02 PM | Coastal News | Sports News |

Bhatkal: ANFA Bhatkal bowlers put up an incredible performance to ruin Altaf Jushuddi’s fifty runs knock beating Labbaik Nawayath Bhatkal by 29 runs in a high-octane summit clash at Nawayath Trophy 2019 , here at Taluka Stadium (YMSA Ground), Bhatkal on Thursday.

In a battle between Nawayath Trophy’s best batting and bowling line-ups, the ANFA army came up trumps despite initial blitzkrieg from Syed Imran Lanka (27), Abdul Bari (42), Sheban Jakti (35) and Abdul Baqi Kharoori (28) defending their total of 197 for eight by restricting Labbaik Nawayath team to 168 for nine.

For Labbaik Nawayath, Altaf Jushuddi (53, 29b, 5 sixes, 3 fours) was a top scorer.

ANFA’s some inspirational death overs bowling by Murtuza Barmawar (26/3 in 4 overs) and Sarfaraz Khateeb (15/2 in 3 overs) that clinched the title.

Winning ANFA team was awarded an attractive trophy and a cash prize of 55,000 INR, while runners-up Labbaik Nawayath received a cash prize of 35,000 INR with the trophy. 

Other awards declared at the closing ceremony included player of the tournament which was awarded to Gulrez Shabab, while the fair play award for discipline team of the tournament was bagged by Lion Sports Centre. Gulrez Shabab of Labbaik Nawayath and Muhammed Zuhaib of Al-Hilal Association  managed to take up green cap and Blue cap respectively. 

On this occasion senior members of  association were felicitated Abdullah Kazmi, Yunus Pillor, Abdus sattar Lanka, Anwar Naitey, SM Saleem and Sajjad Kola.

In the ceremony Bhatkal DySP Valentine D’souza, Majlis-e-Islah Wa Tanzeem General Secretary Mohiddin Altaf Kharuri, Bhatkal Muslim Youth Federation president Imtiyaz Udyawar, Labbaik Nawayath president Moosa, general secretary Maulana Abdul Ahad, Vice President Mubeen Damudi, Saleem Kola, Abdur Rawoof Naitey, Moulavai Azeezur Rahman Ruknuddin Mohiddin Ruknuddin, Rayees Ruknuddin, Zakriya Shabandri, Yahya Shabandri, Ubaidullah Khateeb, Najeeb Shabandri, Ismail Pillor, Mateen SK and others were present.

Scorecard of final:

ANFA  197-8 in 20 overs (Abdul Bari 42, Syed Imran Lanka 27, Sheban Jakti 35, Abdul Baqi 28, Ataullah 21/2, Gulrez 25/2)

Labbaik Nawayath 168-9 in 20 overs (Altaf Jushuddin 53, shabuddin 22, Jasir 22, Murtuza 26/3, Sarfaraz 15/2 )

Read These Next

Coastal districts record 24 +ve cases, 26 discharged

Mangaluru/Udupi: Returnees from Maharashtra contributed to 18 of the 24 positive cases that the coastal districts of Dakshina Kannada and Udupi recorded on Sunday, a day that Karnataka saw its single largest spike in ...

Youth killed as car rams fish truck

Mangaluru: A 25-year-old youth died on the spot after a car rammed a fish truck parked near Nethravathi bridge in Adamkudru on NH 66 in the wee hours of Sunday. ...